Reflection

Now that I finsihed my animation it’s time to relfect.

The motion of the animation contributes to my identity as it is a has very slow movements and slow transistions. This slow pass was done to fit with the metaphor of my identity as the seasons, as the seasons change slowly. And generally my identity changes slowly as well, you know I might start to hangout with different people, start listening to a band then in a few weeks be obsessed with that genre of music.

The compostion contributes to my identity because as it trees and nature have been apart of my life. I have grown up and live in the Redlands which is full of trees, plants and the rest of nature. Just like people who live on the beach, or the city, your enviroment effects your identity. Also I ususaly make it to the botanical gardens on thursdays to checkout the plants and relax in my break between classes.  Also there was the whole metaphor of my identity changing like the seasons which I said in an earlier post.

I decided to treat this animation like an art peice that I would do at school, where I would not worry about target audiences and just express what I wanted about myself, they way that I wanted.  So it is up to people to watch and either hate it or like it, I really wasn’t concerned either way I was just expressing myself.

I wasn’t trying to include anyone as it was fairly abstract and personal. Also I suppose by making it artsy and possibly too abstract it became unrelatable to the audience and isolated them. But there was no indended audience so it’s not that big of a deal if it’s not overly relatable.

The tagline at the end “A Change of Seasons” could have had more thought into it but it does fit with the theme of nature and changing identity.

I think the compostion and movement of the animation is fairly good, certainly not complicated but I like that slow feel it gives. I like how the black contasted with the orange in the first shot, and that would be my favorite part. Some of the flowers and leaves could have had a little less detail in them. But I think that the composition and movement tell the story of changing seasons, but maybe if I put the tagline at the start it would make it clearer. But by not making it crystal clear that the animation is about the seasons it is more fun to watch as the viewer doesn’t know exactly what is going to happen next. Becasue if they did know that it was about seasons then it would be predictable, as everyone knows the seasons go summer, autumn, winter, spring. But back to the compostion. If you see a tree full of leaves, leaves falling to the ground, the cold emptyness of winter  and then spring with the flowers coming up from the ground; most people should beable to figure it. I ended with that mysterious effect as to try and say that the next part of my life, my next identity is a mystery.

 

 

Leave a Reply

